Geography is planned in accordance with the National Curriculum.

The Geography curriculum is divided into four main areas:

Locational knowledge – Place knowledge – Human and physical geography – Geographical skills and fieldwork

Key Stage 1 pupils are taught to:

- name and locate the world’s seven continents, five oceans, and four countries and capital cities of the UK and its surrounding area

- understand geographical similarities and differences

- identify seasonal and daily weather patterns in the UK and the location of hot and cold areas of the world

- use basic geographical vocabulary to refer to key physical features and key human features

- use world maps, atlases and globes

- use simple compass directions and locational and directional language

- use aerial photographs and plan perspectives

- use simple fieldwork and observational skills.

Key Stage 2 pupils are taught to:

- locate the world’s countries

- name and locate counties and cities of the UK

- identify the position and significance of latitude, longitude, Equator and so on

- understand geographical similarities and differences

- describe and understand key aspects of physical geography and human geography

- use maps, atlases, globes and digital/computer mapping to locate countries and describe features studied

- use the eight points of a compass, four and six-figure grid references, symbols and key

- use fieldwork to observe, measure, record and present the human and physical features in the local area using a range of methods.

Geographical knowledge, skills and understanding are taught through high-quality, discrete lessons, which are planned to build on and develop prior learning. We take advantage of our local area to complete local and field study activities.

Files to Download

Student Login